jump to navigation

I versus God September 16, 2008

Posted by heldveld in Antithesis, Blog Spotting.
trackback

Tim Challies uses the recent news regarding Christian singer Ray Boltz (I’ve never heard of him) to examine of the antithesis between the believer’s and non-believer’s world views. He lays out his main point in these two paragraphs:

There are essentially two ways that humans can understand the world. The first way is the way we all understand the world until the Holy Spirit intervenes in our lives and gives us new eyes to see. This worldview is I-centered. I am the center of my own universe and the arbiter of all truth. I may not vocalize things in just this way and may not even think them quite like this, but it is ultimately what I believe. I believe that I am capable of looking at the world and understanding the way it works—who God is, who I am, the relationship between us, and so on.

The other way of seeing the world is God-centered. Here I acknowledge God as the center of all that exists and the arbiter of all truth. Everything that is true and everything that is knowable has its source in Him. Thus I can only interpret the world properly by rightly acknowledging God. This is, obviously, the biblical worldview. It is God who tells me who He is, God who tells me who I am and God who declares the terms of the relationship between us.

Here is the central antithesis, the point from which all other departures in world view originate, it is either God or myself who is the center.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

